On my google reader – which aggregates news stories about Catholic schools – most of the headlines I read look like this:

“Catholic school in x consolidates”

“Catholic school in the diocese of x closes”

“Parents express sadness and protest at the closing of x Catholic school”

It can get pretty disheartening.

So I’m happy when I stumble across a story like this, about Seton Catholic High School in Chandler, AZ that is dramatically expanding to meet demand.

Seton Catholic High School

Arizona has a lot going for it, as I’ve written about on earlier posts.  Here are a couple of factors:

– perhaps the biggest and best per capita scholarship tax credit program in the country

– growing demographics and investment in the State

– a large Hispanic Catholic population

Expect to see Catholic education in Arizona continue to grow in the years ahead.

